People that really know me know I am this shy. People who first meet me probably wouldn’t
notice because if I really met someone new it is because I am with all my
friends and very comfortable.
Being shy sucks. Perhaps,
I am too self conscious, not too shy. Or
are they the same? Merriam-Webster
defines shy as 1. Easily frightened, timid 2. Disposed to avoid a person or
thing, 3. Hesitant in committing oneself, 4. Reserved, 5. Secluded, hidden. All of those don’t fit me, do they? Timid yes, reserved, yes, secluded, maybe? Disposed to avoid? Is that the same as passive-aggressive? I am definitely passive aggressive, but I
think that goes hand in hand with shyness.
Back to Merriam-Webster for a definition of
self-conscious. Conscious of one’s own
acts or states as belonging to originating in oneself: aware of oneself as an
individual. Talk about using a word to
define a word…I thought we learned not to do that in third grade. I don’t think it is self-consciousness.
I am not sure what to make of my shyness. I don't think I was always this way? My brother used to call me a social butterfly. Social butterflies are not shy, are they?
I am not sure what to make of my shyness. I don't think I was always this way? My brother used to call me a social butterfly. Social butterflies are not shy, are they?
I can relate. Especially, "If I wasn’t so shy, I would tell people that I have a blog and they should read it." I sometimes wonder why its so much safer to make friends you dont know on the internet, rather than telling people close to you that you have a blog. But im fairly new at this, maybe things will change in the future. I enjoyed the read.
ReplyDeletehttp://seancallagan.blogspot.com/
There is something very comforting about the anonymity of the internet. Thanks for the comment.
ReplyDelete